Robyn Render Endeavor Award

MCNC Admin Avatar
By MCNC Admin
  • facebook share link
  • twitter share link
  • linkedin share link
  • mail share link

As the MCNC team planned Community Day in 2004, celebrating and reflecting on the evolution, direction, and success of MCNC’s backbone network, NCREN, we realized the contributions of members of our community were key. The Endeavor Award was created to celebrate individuals and their distinguished service and commitment to MCNC. 

The recognition honors a devoted North Carolina leader who understands how technology can grow educational opportunity for all citizens. It is presented to one or more individuals who continually champion leadership, engagement, and support of MCNC's overarching mission and goals for North Carolina.

In 2010, the award was renamed in honor of Robyn Render a community member who epitomized the character, support, and engagement of the community.  Ms. Render was an inaugural recipient of the Endeavor Award. Ms. Render passed in September 2010.

Robyn Render Endeavor Award Recipients


  • Craig D. Horn, Union County


  • Alfred Mays, Burroughs Wellcome Fund


  • Tracy Futhey, Duke University
  • Lane Ridenhour, UNC Greensboro


  • Mark Cooke, NC Information Technology Systems


  • Mladen Vouk, NC State University


  • Jim Gogan, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill


  • Tom Cox, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • Rob Hudson, East Carolina University


  • Greg Dillingham, University of North Carolina Asheville
  • Pam McKirdy, Greensboro College
  • Bill Randall, North Carolina Community College System


  • Phil Emer, Virtual Interactive Intelligence Systems, LLC
  • John Streck,  University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill


  • Jay Dominick, University of North Carolina at Charlotte
  • Henry Schaffer, NC State University


  • Robert R. "Bob" Blackmun, North Carolina Community College System
  • Wanda McIver, North Carolina Central University


  • Holt Anderson, North Carolina Healthcare information & Communications Alliance
  • Samuel F. "Sam" Averitt, NC State University
  • Charles M. "Mick" Kreszock, Appalachian State University
  • Hope Williams, North Carolina Independent Colleges and Universities


  • Molly Corbett Broad, University of North Carolina System Office


  • Alan Blatecky, Renaissance Computing Institute
  • John Cavanaugh, Cisco
  • Richard B. Fair, Duke University
  • Former North Carolina Gov. James B. Hunt, Jr.
  • Jane Smith Patterson, e-NC
  • Robyn R. Render, University of North Carolina System Office
MCNC Admin
MCNC Admin
PO Box 12889
3021 East Cornwallis Road
RTP, NC 27709-2889
919-248-1900 Phone | 919-248-1101 Fax
Connect With Uslinkedintwitterfacebookyoutube
© 2021 MCNC