Community Day 2012 Awards

Robyn Render Endeavor Award

Established in 2004 to honor individuals with distinguished service and commitment to NCREN, the Robyn Render Endeavor Award was renamed in 2010 to honor a devoted leader who understood how technology could grow educational opportunity for all citizens. She had an enormous impact on higher education and rural broadband deployment in North Carolina. This award is presented to one or more persons who continually champion leadership, engagement, and support of NCREN’s mission and goals.

Empower Award

When NCREN experienced considerable growth in 2008, we introduced the Empower Award to recognize individuals who have not been long-time members of the Community but have made an immediate impact in their support of NCREN during the course of their engagement. Empower Award recipients are selected by MCNC with input from the NCREN Community.

Community Choice Award

In the spirit of celebrating the 25th anniversary of NCREN in 2009, MCNC announced the creation of the Community Choice Award. This award engages the NCREN membership from beginning to end, with input on nominees from the Community and with recipients determined by the Community’s online voting. Voting for the Community Choice Award is open.

Community Choice Nominees

Bruce Humphrey, Chief Information Officer - North Carolina Community College System

Brian Darrell Laws, Technology Support Technician - Appalachian State University

Lee Sartain, Education Policy Specialist - Friday Institute for Educational Innovation at North Carolina State University

Click here to view list of past honorees